July 9, 2018 – “The Occasional Off-Day”

Hello, everyone!

Normally, an entry like this one would start with any potential announcements, followed by a report of the day’s events. While there are no announcements to make at the time, the report for July 9, 2018 certainly is not a typical report. The occasional “off-day” was to happen eventually and the happenstance occurred on today’s date.

After waking much later than normal, I arrived on campus thirty minutes after I was expected. I had contacted to Ms. Rubin to let her know beforehand, but there were concerns of neglecting my cleaning duties as a result. Fortunately, Kryslynn had cleaned the fifth floor study hall before I arrived. I thanked and apologized for having her clean in my stead. But, our conversation lead to her becoming aware of the schedule (apparently she did not know that her day that she was in charge of was Thursdays).

With the cleaning issue aside, the only remaining concern was the timesheet. The timesheets were due by Tuesday, but they could still be edited beforehand. As such, the start and end times were changed to 8:30 AM and 12:30 PM respectively for today. After these edits were made, two copies were printed, signed, and turned in to Ms. Rubin. With preliminary concerns alleviated, the focus shifted to the George L. Stuart Collection.

Without Courtney, the pace of retrieving documents and relabeling them before placing them in the new box to house them was considerably slower. Despite this, Box 23 was completed. While processing Box 24, an idea occurred. I would gather as much documents the box could handle, then relabel them. In practice, the idea seemed to work without any endurance.

But, this “off-day” was not going to conclude without any further complications. In the middle of retrieving documents, I needed to gather folders from old Box 69. To my horror, I discovered the box was seemingly missing! I searched both the Special Collections and University Archives for fifteen to thirty minutes for Box 69.

After eventually resigning from the search did I notice through the spreadsheet reminded me Box 69 was converted into Box 13. After recuperating from this folly, the wasted time shortened any potential work to could further be conducted. I left the office slight upset at the oversight committed by myself.

With this “off-day” concluded, hopefully the rest of the week does not result in similar fashion. But, tomorrow always has new potential. Until then, have a good evening and stay safe! Bye!

Author: 57r3l574d

I am currently a Graduate Student at the University of Central Florida and simultaneously employed by the university library's Special Collections and University Archives as a Other Personnel Service (OPS) Student. Expected to graduate in 2019 with a History MA - Public History Track.

Leave a comment